A Day in the Life…

20160915_180321

Aren’t those marigolds gorgeous?

A neighbor pulled up four little marigold starts this spring and gave them to me. “Do you want some marigolds?” he asked.

I had no idea they would grow so large. I stuck them between tomato plants in the back yard and this summer they got so bushy they spilled out on either side of the tomatoes and grew up through some. They were so loaded with blooms I wished several times I’d planted some in the front yard to enjoy there as well.

At some point I was reading about dyes. Oh, yeah, I read another blog where the writer makes her own dyes. I did a search and saw a link for marigold dye. I wish I had thought of this earlier. I could have been collecting blooms all year rather than watching them wither and go to seed.

After drying, I’ve got half of a quart size bag full. I stuck in a silica gel packet from some leftover packaging to help keep the petals dry. I’ve got more petals drying and in a couple of days I should be able to harvest some more flowers.

I’m playing with some quilty stitchery ideas, although I haven’t had much time to pursue them. I’ve missed stitching with thread lately, so am considering getting back into it. I’d really like to make some projects that would decrease my fabric stash. I’ve gotten started, but haven’t gotten a lot accomplished yet. Mostly ideas…

I came across this old piece while digging through my stash. It’s something I traced out of a book and filled in. I don’t think I even have the book any more. I didn’t care for most of the designs.

20160913_110321

It’s one of those things from my stitching days where I look at it and am amazed that I actually did that. Here’s a closer look.

20160913_110352

Button hole stitch, satin stitch, French knots, cast-on stitch, bullions…I’m impressed. Yet, still unsure what to do with this piece.

I haven’t done a lot of embroider in a number of years. Over the past few years I’ve been learning a lot about crochet and continuing to needle tat. But, I find myself wandering back to stitching. Plus, I have so much thread I need to use up.

I need to spend some time in the kitchen today. I’m nearly out of sauerkraut, and I’ve got some okra and cucumbers staring at me. I’m pretty sure there’s a jar of kombucha that’s ready, and I need to bottle these guys today. Perhaps I’ll add some more sugar and let it get a bit more bubbly. Lime pine fermented soda.

20160911_155529

Here’s another pic of the Aztec man.

20160913_110333

Leave a Reply

