The Spider and Her Web…

Yesterday I completed the Spider and Her Web.

I had to force myself to sit down and put the wire through the legs, stitch them on. It wasn’t too difficult a task, but I had been putting it off. I’m so happy to have this completed in time to enjoy it for Halloween.

20161009_195019

I want to find some purple lights to put around the perimeter. Maybe I will get out and do that today.

Here she is this morning.

20161010_104955

Isn’t she FABULOUS?! I believe my first blog post contains the link to making the crocheted spider. I didn’t make it exactly as instructed, mine’s a bit bigger…and designed to look like our native Jumping spiders, which I love. The doily is crocheted from an old pattern book I have, probably from the 80s. I used the center bit until I ran out of white, and then basically made up my own pattern for the purple perimeter. H really loves it, which makes me happy. I love it, too.

Also yesterday I took loads of flower photos. Even though the gardens are fading in the cooler weather, they are still fabulous. I will enjoy them to the last. Look at that STAR.

 

I just love THIS flower, here, and have been watching it the past few days. I adore how it turns up its head to the light, and how the light shines through it.

 

I would love to be able to stitch this and do it justice. I will have to try.

And this ageing orange zinnia…so gorgeous…

20161009_121456

The rain drops on this fading glory…

20161009_121308

And little Olive, so quiet and observant. She is a joy to have with us. The little stray, scared, hungry, wild and alone…now has a family.

20161009_121422

She is becoming such a beauty.

I got on a silk square kick this weekend. Cut and stitched and stitched some more. Silk thread on silk. I was totally absorbed for hours. This morning I looked in the basket and realized I had SO many. I counted. 76!!! How did I DO that?

20161010_134028

 

 

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. jude says:

    and there they are!

    1. June Wildflower says:

      Yep…now what? 😉

  2. Liz says:

    Love the spider and it’s web, great idea.

    1. June Wildflower says:

      Thank you. It was a fun project.

Leave a Reply

