My ordinary day…

I saw a (derogatory) meme on FB the other day.

It was basically poking fun at people who sit around all day taking pictures of themselves doing normal things that everyone else does, but posting the photos on FB as if they are something original. Not that I’m a super FB fan or anything, but I always find it funny that some people who think FB is a total waste of time would take valuable time out of their day and lower themselves by commenting on something that is so beneath them. Ironic, don’t you think?

Maybe the same thing, or something similar, could be said about blogs. I take a lot of very ordinary photos of my ordinary life and post them here. I do so because I feel like someone out there might find my ordinary days interesting. After all, we’re not really all doing the same exact thing or living the same exact way. So, here are some snaps of my very dull, unoriginal, ordinary life…

Like the coconut banana bread I just made…yum…

20170109_140753

And the new flower buds on the Christmas cactus that I am super stoked about…

20170109_140738

And a picture of me and Weanie cuddling the other day…

20161228_114703

Super boring, eh?

Among other ordinary things…today is the first day I have felt free of the flu! I think the 11 hours of sleep probably helped! And all the vitamin C I took yesterday…2,000 mg every 50 minutes for 6 or 8 doses. Aspirin therapy the previous 2 days helped tremendously, especially for that kind of virus that can just drag on. Although, I have used it to nip a cold in the bud, too. Yesterday I was feeling better, but had ZERO energy. Today I was able to wash dishes and straighten up the kitchen a bit (it had been driving me nuts!), make banana bread, as mentioned, take some photos, do some computer work, etc… I feel like I’m getting my life back!

The thing is, I like reading about other people’s ordinary lives and seeing photos of their ordinary days. It’s the main reason I stay on FB. The way some people live and what they experience is so totally different than any of my days, so I like peeking into their lives. This morning when I finally woke up, I made tea then got back in bed to catch up on a few of my favorite blogs. Very normal things were happening on them, but at the same time very fascinating things. I enjoyed my blog reading enormously.

On the stitching front, H thinks this is funny…

20161227_112951

It’s my couch pile. It’s full of sewing and crocheting and all sorts of things. It tends to grow like a mountain and I haven’t bothered cleaning it off in a while. However, I did clean out two very nice sewing baskets I was mainly using for jewelry and plan to use them to get my sewing things organized. It’s a challenge because I’m skipping from one project to the next a lot of times and I use different materials. Having everything in one or two places probably isn’t going to happen. But, I’m going to try my best to have some sort of organization going on.

Here’s progress on Bluebirds. And stitching on a new piece.

Bluebirds looks less busy through the camera lens, but I know I’m overthinking it and this piece was meant to be about not overthinking. I’m trying to think about finish work. I did add the top and bottom borders, I’m just not sure whether to leave them plain or add something. I was really liking the squares, but it feels too busy.

And one more photo from my very ordinary life…the little fireplace we brought down from the upstairs room and put in my bedroom. It is keeping me toasty warm at night, and I am loving it.

20170109_123244

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. yes…Visiting the Ordinary that’s also Elsewhere….like your couch. Like
    your couch Very Much, like all of it, and it’s PLEASING to me, being
    able to look in

    1. June Wildflower says:

      I like looking in, too. Even little things are interesting.

Leave a Reply

