Just. One. Thing.

20170201_115412

I made it up to the sewing room a few nights ago. It’s cold up there in winter, so I have a tendency to work on projects downstairs rather than spending much time there.

I had some items to take up and took a moment to look around. All my unfinished projects were staring me in the face. I have started so many and finished…none.

Why is it so much easier to start rather than finish?

I don’t know. I’ve been blaming the injured paw on not finishing a couple of crochet projects and for slowing me down with the stitching. But that’s not totally fair. My left hand is much better these days. I only wear the brace at night when I sleep, to keep from rolling over it or pinning it under me. It’s still a bit sore and not 100%, but I have yet to pick up a crochet hook and test it. I’ve been more focused on drawing and stitching, anyway. I guess I need to step it up.

Anyway, I was looking around the sewing room and decided, then and there, to Just. Finish. One. Thing. So, I finished this.

It’s not particularly clever or well done. There’s no story, just pieces put together. The only real story is I had a moon-shaped pearl bead in that space where the stitched moon is now, but it was too clunky and I snipped it off. I decided to stitch instead. The part I probably like the most, the twisted fringe at the bottom, is Jude’s technique.

I went to bed thinking the piece lacks magic. How do I incorporate magic into my cloth work? Honestly, I don’t really know. But, maybe I can start with story.

Onto other things…

In drawing class we practiced hands. Hands are hard…

20170201_115730

These are hard to see. Pencil doesn’t hold up all that well to bright light, at least not my tentative strokes.

We had to do four different poses:

Relaxed…

20170201_115736

Closed fist…

20170201_115758

Renaissance…

20170201_115751

And claw…

20170201_115743

I’m happiest with the relaxed pose. It was the first one and I probably spent the most time with it. This week I’ll make a few more attempts at drawing my left hand. Hopefully, I’ll get better.

Two more words made it onto the word cloth before the end of January. I was tired last night, but made myself keep stitching. That’s the goal, get each month’s words in before the month is gone.

Sunshine, because we’ve had some nice days for which I was thankful. And Las Mananitas…the new Mexican restaurant H and I discovered this month. We’ve been there four times already.

There was one casualty this week. I woke up the other morning to find the largest bud on the winter cactus (May Flower per Maria in Brazil…thank you) had been knocked off or, I suppose, had fallen on its own. However, I had not appropriately blocked off access to that portion of the table and there was probably just enough room for a fat cat to squeeze in there in order to peek through the curtain and look outside. Hmph. That’s ok, I’ll enjoy whatever blooms I get.

Noodle’s been in good spirits lately. Still enjoying the string game. Sometimes I’ll put the string down when they seem tired, so as not to wear them out. It does get a little old for me after a while, too. When the string’s not there, and she still wants to chase it, she has begun taking a running jump and pouncing off the backs of my legs. Thanks, Noodle.

She really cracks me up.

I thought about selling the piece above. I don’t even have a real name for it, just “Moth.” If anyone would like to have it, let me know. I will send it to you. For free.

As I spread the word cloth over my legs last night while I stitched, I noticed how soft and light it is. It will make a nice summer blanket. Here’s wishing you all some sunshine and a nice authentic Mexican meal.

20170201_120130

 

 

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Peggy McG says:

    Such inspiring words I am off to Finish One Thing I need to make a design wall like Jude and Grace use so I can See what needs to be worked on. Do you use one? I tend to put things in covered boxes to keep my four cats worth of fur off of things But i think the wall will be the answer!

    1. June Wildflower says:

      I think a design wall is a great idea. I have a small strip of one upstairs in the sewing room. It already has two pieces on it that have been there for months. I was just looking at them the other day…wanting to get them moved and finished.
      I find I get to a stopping place where don’t know how I want to continue and then it’s off to something new…*sigh*. Let me know how your wall progresses. And, I hear you on the cats. Especially in winter, there is a lot of fur to contend with!

  2. I like the project that you finished. It is not important that you still do not tell a story…You used different materials and textures with spontaneity ; it´s a try .You think your work has no magic…I thought there is a mystery in the night of this butterfly…

    1. June Wildflower says:

      Thank you, I love that perspective. Oh, and that’s actually a very good observation. Many moths here come out at night to feed on flowers. Some people mistake them for hummingbirds they are so large and their wings hum as they move from blossom to blossom.

Leave a Reply

