Path…

It feels too early for me to write anything. I’m not sure my brain is working yet.

But I want to spend the bulk of the day stitching and relaxing, although a bath and badly needed hair wash is next on the agenda, so it seems like the best plan is to write now, play later.

Do you ever have those days where you wake up and decide you are going to spend the day in bed? And then you don’t? Or you decide today I’m going to do everything I want to do and ignore the rest? But you don’t? This has been my week, a week of feeling like doing nothing but making myself do as much as I could. There is a lot to DO.

In the meantime, we’ve been going around in circles here.

20170208_174827

Our backyard walking has worn a path in the dry grass.

We like that.

We like seeing what our feet have done, what our determination to walk has created. The cats like it too, will sit on it waiting for us to come round, lay in the middle of the path to make us walk around, stalk us – or the string – as we walk by.

20170208_174748

Yesterday did take a lot of determination to make it around the path 50 times. 50 times is 2 miles. It was all I had in me and I had to do it in two parts. It has been bitterly cold the past few days and energy has been low.

It was 36 degrees out when I took these pictures. To the cats it was nothing. They kept running around playing. I turned the faucet on so it could dribble over my cardboard garden plot. Matty – who is fascinated by water, has a thing about water, is not afraid of water – played in the stream for a long time, drank heavily, and walked in the puddles.

20170208_174440

After finishing an unfinished crochet project – the Drops Rondo bag – I decided if I finish one I can start one. So, yesterday I crocheted a bit. Followed by some stitching on the word cloth. The names of the seeds I purchased this week were so lovely I had to put them on cloth.

20170209_205203

20170209_205134

Some days I’m impressed with my own penmanship. And other days I can’t seem to get that running back stitch (or whatever it’s called) to work for me, as was the case with Ukrainian Purple. But I think the lovely  names make up for what the stitching lacks. Rouge Vif D’Etamps is a squash and Ukrainian Purple are tomatoes. I hope they will grow for me.

Last night I made chicken and dumplings. It doesn’t look like much in the photo, but it’s been a favorite since childhood.

20170209_192410

Good ‘ole Betty Crocker. She knew what she was doing.

Have a great weekend.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Peggy McG says:

    Ooohhhh… you have inspired me Walk!!! I keep giving myself the excuse that i have to keep going on cleaning out the house , especially the craft and tools rooms but yes you can only do so much til your mind pulls you to do something else and the old body says Sit Down Thats when i read blogs and get Inspired Thank you!! I am off to find some yarn i purchased and dont know where i tucked it!! And then outside to walk Supposed to get 40 today

    1. June Wildflower says:

      Walking is such great exercise for humans…we are made to walk (not run!) Enjoy!

  2. Hello June!
    Here I am thinking of the paths that we are walking day by day in our hearts…they also leave a trail, drawings that form the map of our soul…so many paths…I am also thinking that ‘paths ‘is a good theme for a project in cloth and thread, what do you think?

    1. June Wildflower says:

      Yes, I agree! I did a sketch today based on that top photo and have been thinking all evening of creating it in cloth. I’m going to try, anyway.

Leave a Reply

