Wind and wondering…

The boring computer work of the day is over. Now I can get onto other, more fun things…

Like, how I’ve been wondering lately, ever since I got them, really, just what kind of ducks are these?

IMG_0144

I have narrowed it down to two options: Indian Runners or Khaki Campbells.

On a backyard chickens site I was reading a woman posted pictures of ducklings that look just like these. She had purchased them from the same chain store I had and was wondering what breed they were. Most people guessed Khaki Campbells. Later she reported they turned out to be Indian Runners. I would be happy with either one, as both have their strong suits.

Indian Runners stand very upright and have tiny wings so they can’t fly. This would be great…no duck chasing! And no wing clipping. They are good egg layers and are on the quiet side. Indian Runners are also very sweet-natured.

Khaki Campbells are beautiful ducks. When mature they have a lovely soft tan coat…do you say coat with ducks? Anyway, they are gorgeous and I have always loved them. Also, they are one of THE BEST egg layers…which is really what I’m after. Of course, with the khakis, I will have to clip wings. That’s ok, I’ve done it before. I used to help mom clip all the chicken wings when I was little. Of course, I wondered why they could still fly after she had clipped them. Now I know it’s because she did it wrong! I will do better.

Here’s a web photo of the khakis.

khaki-campbell-ducklings

I’ve always admired that emerald green of the drakes combined with that taupe.

Yesterday was art class day. The class is turning out to be an introduction to many forms of drawing. I would have preferred one focused on pencil drawing, but go with the flow, right? I’m just hoping some of what I’m learning will translate to fabric, as that is my main focus.

Here are a couple of yesterday’s efforts where we brushed with ink.

IMG_0109

IMG_0107

Overall, it was a fun experiment, although I never feel like I know what I’m doing.

I have the same feeling working with cloth most days.

I did manage to get a border on this log cabin piece. Finding background cloths is so challenging for me. I’m not really sure why.

20170308_101808

I’m also feeling afraid to do any more stitching…I don’t want to mess it up. I love that messy moon, how it seems to ooze color splotches to the right. I want to accentuate that, but how? I sketched out some ideas. If I work up the nerve, I will try some.

Weather has been windy windy windy. Every day, wind! It is so windy and dry the state is experiencing serious wildfires for the second year in a row. The fires are west of here, but the past few nights the air has been filled with the smell of wood smoke and the sky is hazy. One night there were wildfires in the west and tornado warnings very close to the north. That’s Kansas for you.

Time for me to go. It’s duckie bath time!

 

2 thoughts on “Wind and wondering…

  1. All your drawings are so wonderful, there is certainly talent there. With the ducks, it will be exciting to watch them grow and see how their coloring plays out.
    Wind I have never expierienced so many days of such intense wind as we have had here – Minnesota but closer to the Wisconsin border. I told my daughter over the phone yesterday as i watched items fly past the house that i didnt want to live in Kansas any more! At least we dont have wild fires!

    • The wildfires are new to me! Last year they were really bad, so bad the sky turned dark as they were quite close. It’s quite common to have small grass fires here when it’s dry, but huge fires not so much. Interesting it is windy where you live, too.
      Thanks for the comment on drawing…I want to get better and feel more confident.
      Really enjoyed bath time with the ducks today. They are so cute.

Leave a Reply

