Thread beads and blue…

Over the weekend I did a bit of dyeing. Not all of it was successful, but I do like these pieces…

IMG_0178

IMG_0179

Those beautiful marks are made with rubber bands wrapped around the outside of the fabric. I’d like to repeat the experiment sometime with the fabric wrapped around a vegetable can and held on with rubber bands. I think it would turn out beautifully. These lines almost look painted to me.

 

A couple of blue silk moons in there, too.

I had a lot of fun stitching thread beads onto Aubergine and Green…

IMG_0176

IMG_0175

I found it really helpful when changing colors, to keep the non-working colors to the right, doing all but one wrap for a bead and then putting that color to the side. When I was ready for the next color, I’d finish the last wrap stitch in the unfinished bead and then come up to the point next in line. Does that make sense? Maybe everybody already knows to do this.

Also, The Mountain has grown again.

IMG_0177

I hope you all had a wonderful weekend.

 

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Peggy McG says:

    The dyed cloth has an exciting pattern. Like lightening passing through clouds. The thread bead tip is wonderful, i have never done them in a row of different colors as you have here, very nice!!

    1. June Wildflower says:

      Thanks, Peggy!

  2. doing the black/white black/white black/white and red
    i just did that. and for the first time figured out exactly what you say here…
    SMILE!!!!!
    isn’t it just GREAT?

    1. June Wildflower says:

      YES I noticed all your lovely beads on the new piece…I felt I was probably late to the party, just figuring this out now! LOL!

Leave a Reply

