Goodbye tree…

I woke up to this today…

20170331_103622

No electricity, cable and electric lines down, chainsaws and strange men in MY yard…with almost no notice. We knew the tree was coming down, but didn’t know when. Our neighbor, who was apparently informed of all the details, denied knowing anything when telling us the tree would come down “sometime soon.” We have suspected for a while he’s not playing with a full deck. The tree guy later confirmed the date had been set a week ago. Of course, he didn’t call me back and only called H late yesterday and left a message. Because H thought it was a telemarketer call, he ignored it. So, I had little warning.

So, now the big Mulberry…my neighbor insisted it was a cottonwood…nope…confirmed (just for grins) by the tree guy…is gone, leaving us a fabulous view of…

20170331_182722

the ugly building behind. Oh, well, the tree was falling apart while also growing up into the lines. We can’t have that.

The whole ordeal was, honestly, a fitting end to a tiresome week where everything felt off and nothing really seemed to go smoothly.

Anyway, the electricity was off the bulk of the day. Once most of the work was done, I spent a couple hours in the back yard with the ducks and the cats. So far they are co-existing pretty well. Weanie is funny. She knows the ducks are off limits, but couldn’t help herself and ran fast towards us in a big sweeping circle. I’m chasing the ducks…nooooo…not really….psyche…

This was a bit of my time with the ducks yesterday.

They like staying close to me. The chairs are on boards to keep them from sinking into the ground. We’ve had a lot of rain.

I put out the old litter box full water since they probably weren’t going to go in their pen for the water there.

20170329_142209

All three of them will climb in. It’s pretty funny.

They really love to forage. It is quite relaxing to be in their presence.

20170329_143458

I did have photos of my pillow progress, but they are being held hostage at the moment by my ipad and I cannot retrieve them. So, I’ll leave you with some views from the park today where I ate lunch.

20170331_132802

20170331_132931

20170331_132922

There are so many things blooming right now, the air smells like flowers.

Enjoy your weekend!

9 Comments Add yours

  1. a fitting end….yes…it’s like that sometimes. But the ducks had a really Great
    week and just seeing the pics here gave a Peacefull sense of Doing…..

    1. June Wildflower says:

      They really are SO peaceful…I’m glad you felt it too!

  2. Peggy McG says:

    Oh the tree, oh the lack of mulberries.. sad.
    Lack Of Energy has had control and put her hands on my shoulders and pushed me down on the couch too many times this week. Good by March, Hello April!

    1. June Wildflower says:

      Cold and rainy days have made me feel more tired lately, although I have still managed to get a lot done.
      This may sound strange, but that tree being gone is like a relief. Having been out in the back yard quite a bit I notice More birds rather than fewer…and a welcomed sense of space. Very few animals actually used that tree and I’m wondering if something was wrong with it? It never produced mulberries, but not far from here is a tree that grows them bigger than my thumb! If I’m still here in June I’ll be picking some again.

  3. Peggy McG says:

    PS Love all your stitching! The pillow is coming along well and the cat portrait on it is fabulous!

    1. June Wildflower says:

      Thanks so much! I am really liking this pillow a lot.

  4. The tree is gone…it´s life…but the park is beautiful, flowery,and the ducks are good companions,they like to be near you! How nice to have a yard to spend a few hours outside…
    A novelty:we put the apartment up for sale and we´re looking for a house outside of S.Paulo!

    1. June Wildflower says:

      Hey, that’s wonderful, Maria! Congratulations! I hope you will be enjoying your own yard soon…how exciting.
      Yes, the ducks do like to stay close, but are wandering off more to forage. Noodle keeps a “close” eye on them. ha

Leave a Reply

