Why so cold?

How was March any different than February?

H asked me that this weekend when we were outside. There wasn’t much difference, really, except in March it was cold and wet, instead of cold and dry.

We got a ton more rain last night. Just for grins I put the duck’s old tubs under the shed roofline last night. This morning they are half full of rain water.

The ducks seemed oblivious to the cold. They got right into their new pool. I don’t know if you can tell, but they love it.

20170403_105835

I don’t know if you know this, but those cheap kiddie pools? They’re kindof pricey! We got this one at the dollar store for 8 bucks. I was expecting to pay $5 or $6 for a larger one, at least the medium size one. I need to start selling fabric to support my duck habit.

It really does crack me up when all 3 of them get in there. Funnier in the litter box, but this is good, too. They actually look like real ducks on a pond…sortof.

20170403_105811

Ok, so not the greatest shot. Gyrtie was excited and swimming around…or is that Yoyo?

Noodle got in on the action, too. She was paddling in the water like a weirdo. I don’t know what goes through that cat’s head sometimes.

Even though it was cloudy, cold and rainy, I managed to get a couple of trellises built. I’m pretty happy with them.

20170403_143557

The one on the right is made with stronger branches. I’m going to grow Armenian cucumbers there. The one on the left is made with thinner branches, not so sturdy, and is in what will hopefully be a little bit of shade once it gets hotter. Peas for the ducks are going there.

On the stitching front, I’ve been working on the pillow…she still doesn’t have a name yet…

IMG_0209

She’s coming along nicely. Although, I have to admit, I think she is more charming in person.

IMG_0210

I took her outdoors with me so the ducks would have company. They played, ate, pooped and swam while I stitched. I have to play guardian a lot, any time they have the run of the yard. As it turns out, I really can’t trust those darn cats AT ALL. They are far too curious and predatory…at least at this stage. I am hoping the newness of having ducks wears off soon. In the meantime, I am scoping out some options for building a pen. I need something quick, cheap and easy which requires zero building skills. I’m not asking for much, am I?

I snagged these from a lilac bush in the alley, just before the Mulberry tree came down. Sadly, it’s already time to throw them out, but they were pretty while they lasted.

IMG_0207

IMG_0205

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Peggy McG says:

    Imagine your own head cushioned by your own hand stitched love!
    Still cold here too (Mn) and no sign of lilacs at all, the grass has not started greening yet, so your pics are such a delight and give hope of things to come!

    1. June Wildflower says:

      Ah, so glad to share the green!

  2. Difficult to understand the weather! Here the rains are over and in the middle of March it was much cooler…it’s been a week since it’s hot again! Crazy is not it? But at this time of year the color of sky is beautiful, the sunset has different colors,mysterious,nostalgic, and flocks of clouds going no one knows where…You would think it was beautiful.
    These ducks have a good life and lots of love!
    The pillow is getting special…indicated to have joyful and colorful dreams!

    1. June Wildflower says:

      The clouds have indeed been beautiful of late. There’s been a routine of gray days, rain and then sun with lovely puffy clouds…and this being Kansas, a lot of wind, too!
      I like that thought, a colorful pillow inspiring colorful dreams…

Leave a Reply

