I think they knew…

I think the ducks knew they were being watched yesterday.

Every time I got out of sight for even a moment, they were calling for me, the loud, slightly panicked where’d you go???? quacking. Here’s a moment when we found each other again…

IMG_0228

I almost felt scolded. Definitely accused.

In retrospect, after the scare of the hawk, it makes sense to me that they knew it was close by. Earlier when I was out doing some gardening and the ducks were milling about, I heard a hawk’s screech which sounded like it was coming from the neighbor’s tree – the next door neighbor’s tree. This, even though today TG&Y were much more calm, not panicking if I wandered out of view.

A bit later I could see a hawk flying high above the house. It did several passes right over us. I was ready to come in, anyway, so the ducks are now in their pen. The goofy extension I put together with the bits and pieces I had lying around is now covered with a shade sail…basically a slightly nicer version of a tarp. Out of sight, out of mind, right? Let’s hope so.

Yesterday’s rain and cloud cover were a lovely setting for what was happening on the ground. I think the gray made the colors on the ground seem even brighter.

IMG_0214

IMG_0215

The heavy rain took down most of the redbud blossoms. They were strewn along Path.

IMG_0216

They made such a lovely trail.

It made me think how lovely it is to have flowers strewn along the path of your life…

IMG_0219

…those unexpected pleasures and gifts as we make our way through.

More color was awaiting under another red bud.

IMG_0225

I am quite fond of pink and green, green and purple.

IMG_0227

With all the tending to ducks and work on the gardening endeavors, I have had very little time to stitch.

I did start this little piece last week, although not much progress has been made on it either.

IMG_0183

It’s called What if?

Maybe someday soon I can finish it. I have so much I want to do.

For now, here’s wishing your path is strewn with flowers…

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. i like What Ifing. Jude taught that in her beginning on~line classes.

    the hawk….eeeeeee…vulnerability

    1. June Wildflower says:

      Disturbingly vulnerable, for sure. 🙂

  2. Peggy McG says:

    Natural dangers, hawks, cats, Rain! The pictures of strewn buds and leaves remind me of handmade paper full of flecks of flowers.

    1. June Wildflower says:

      I loved those colors together, there on the damp ground. Today all was changed…

Leave a Reply

