T&G are mean girls…

Noodle…calmly sitting by the duck’s pool…looks innocent, doesn’t it?

20170412_102551

Noodle…who isn’t afraid of water, or the ducks…who has lurked around the ducks since I got them, been too close to them for comfort…Noodle…who gets in everyone’s face whether they want her there or not…who has pestered everyone in this household within an inch of their life…etc…has possibly met her match.

Yesterday I was eating at my outdoor table, the ducks resting calmly beneath me, when Noodle wandered over and came very close to the ducks. Too close, as it turns out.

Gyrtle hissed at her loudly and made a really ugly face! I think there was some wing flapping, too.

I had never seen her do that before. Neither had Noodle. Noodle, eyes big, mouth slack, was stunned!

Then today, not long after the photo above was taken, the ducks wanted to get back in their pond and, wouldn’t you know, Noodle was sitting there again. Apparently, Turtle didn’t take kindly to that. She eyed Noodle up and down for a moment, stomped up to her behind her back and shoved…yes, that’s what I said…SHOVED Noodle off the step! She didn’t peck, she didn’t nip, she just pushed her right off of there!

Noodle whipped around, eyes even bigger than during Gyrtle’s hissy fit and was, frankly, APPALLED!!! The nerve of that duck! No one has ever treated Noodle thus.

No, Noodle, dear, this is something entirely  new.

Turtle and Gyrtle are mean girls.

I laughed until I cried.

In other news, I am tired today. I have decided today is mostly an inside day, or inside as much as possible. Any moment now the ducks are going to get noisy. They prefer to be out of their pen foraging. I don’t blame them. However, they still have separation anxiety…not as bad as before our talk. But I still am required to be around, within sight, preferably ALL the time. Now, I am allowed to run into the house if I need something and be gone 10 or 15 minutes…maybe…until T&G start up a fuss about me being gone. I usually try to sneak away while their heads are buried in leaves as they search for slugs. Then they might not notice me tip toeing away.

These are blooming in the back yard. I really love them. They remind me of pinwheels…

20170412_110534

These are also a good example of why H is not allowed to mow in the back yard…maybe ever this year. If he had mowed they would be GONE.

And here is another reason I am avoiding the outdoors today. This was last night’s sunset…

IMG_0266

Perty? No, smoky. It is the annual burnfest where local farmers all get together and try to smoke us out by burning all their fields simultaneously. This favored tradition and general thumbing of the nose at us city folk is due to none of them wanting to practice no-till farming. Because no-till farming is more work and, well, they haven’t been doing that for eons and they got there first and they can do whatever they want…and…don’t get me started.

The smoke laden air and my burning eyes didn’t stop me from getting a couple of photo ops with my new wind chime…

IMG_0267

 

IMG_0269

Upstairs, all is well. Say hello to Twobie and Archie. Explanation of those names will have to come later.

IMG_0279

I knew they were boys before I named them, before I checked…how about that?

Above them there are now two blooms on Grandma’s cactus. One for each kitty?

IMG_0276

Out in the garden some new trellises have joined the tribe…

IMG_0270

How is it I would rather build these all day than plant anything?

And, inside, there was more stitching…

IMG_0272

IMG_0274

IMG_0273

I hope you have a lovely day.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Peggy McG says:

    Well, sounds like Noodle is learning the language of duck, including body language!
    The cactus flowers are gorgeous, with buds still coming-?

    1. June Wildflower says:

      Only a couple more that I see, but then the light is changing to the summer sun so maybe that is affecting the budding?
      Yes, Noodle IS learning a lot these days…maybe she will calm down a bit. She’s still my little sweety.

Leave a Reply

