New old pursuits…

The days lately are turning out to be like most days…duck watching, gardening, cat wrangling, and a bit of stitching here and there…

20170418_124331

20170418_124256

Pillow progress has been put on hold for a bit as I started another giant doily for the front porch. Here’s the pattern:

20170418_124424

I am hoping I will have enough yarn to finish, although I am betting I don’t and will have to order another skein. This is always a dilemma as most of the time I am endeavoring to use up the yarn I already have rather than buying more. I will have to give it some thought as I get closer to the end. Most of the doily is purple, but I may finish up with pink. We’ll see.

It’s not rainy today, which is nice. I was out earlier and the sun felt great. I am headed out again soon so the ducks can roam under my watchful eye. They seem especially nervous in the mornings which does make sense because all the cats are particularly interested in them in the morning. Once kitty nap time hits mid afternoon things seem to calm down a touch.

Check out these bookends…on the duck pen, of course…

20170416_173614

I worked for hours yesterday in the garden getting things planted. It wasn’t so bad, just takes a lot of work followed by putting duck and cat protection over everything. That part is frustrating…but the lettuces are happy…

20170417_155925

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Peggy McG says:

    Oh I love the heart with the beautiful base fabric peeking through! Cat bookends!! Ha!!
    Doily crochet looks ambitious.
    I admire all the time you spend outside, reminds me of all the camping we would do, only inside to sleep or grab the food and back out to cook it. How wonderful to think it can be done without going anywhere! Thanks for this inspiration!

    1. June Wildflower says:

      Camping…I never did do much of that, but then I lived on a farm for 8 years and I guess every day was like camping. I was often down by the creek fishing, picking flowers or playing with the many animals. I think that’s partly what I’m trying to do these days…recreate some of those memories…

Leave a Reply

