The wind blew my head off…

That’s how it’s felt lately. Too windy for my taste.

This is the first day I have been able to be inside for any amount of time without the ducks (i.e. Turtle) going berserk. Perhaps the wind has calmed them, as well.

Yesterday was more like this…

20170418_144858

Not just beneath my chair, but ON my foot. Turtle was completely on my foot for a while, and Yoyo was on my shoe. They stuck to me like glue yesterday, even when I went inside for a moment

20170418_143435

I wasn’t sure what was up with them. They weren’t getting in their pool at all. Granted, the water was the color of chocolate milk, but that’s never stopped them before…or so I thought. When I began to empty it out, the smell hit me. Yikes, it was bad. As soon as I started filling it up with fresh water they were in there…and loving the spray nozzle…

20170418_172228

Now that they are fully feathered out bath time is different. They really fluff up their feathers so that they look like pinecones. I think it’s to let the water reach their skin…

20170418_172543

I had a new arrival in the garden…

butterfly crop

Sooooo beautiful. I had to take the pic fast because Noodle was chasing this one. She whined when I kept nudging her with my foot so she’d miss it.

I am so tired today…again. Allergies? Could be, also interrupted sleep. H wants to go grocery shopping, but I am dreading it. I would rather stay here and stitch. I’d rather stitch and starve. Not really, but I can make do. Shopping means a trip away, a long drive, and gone for a couple hours. Ugh.

I did get out for some errands today. I found this book at the thrift store…

IMG_0286

It has some really nice color photos. I thought maybe it would inspire some drawing, or at least help me when/if I draw birds. Or I may just read it.

I also got this old lace tablecloth for $1…

IMG_0287

It’s really beautiful and has a nice feel to it. It was much loved, as the stains, holes and worn places suggest. I want to use it for dyeing experiments. It will be hard for me to cut it up, even though I tell myself it has been used.

No stitching to share today, although progress has continued on the giant doily. I did end up buying another skein of yarn, which I know is the wrong size. I don’t think you will be able to tell from afar, so hopefully it will work ok.

I just noticed it’s only Wednesday. *sigh*

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Peggy McG says:

    Wind and fresh air can wear one out, and on top of it all, you have triplets plus all the other kids! Nothing better for the doldrums than a thrift store! Pouring rain today here and no sign of sun til the weekend. Blahhhhh

    1. June Wildflower says:

      You are so right! I have found my long hours outside are exhausting and I am completely pooped by the end of the day. Yes, the animal numbers are wearing a bit…

Leave a Reply

