The weather is…

20170426_114008

The next four days are supposed to be…

20170426_114033

A couple days ago it was super…

20170426_114038

When it’s done being cold and rainy, I bet it will be…

20170426_114013

In fact, the past two months have been…

20170426_114055

Ugh.

Of course, I won’t be here for a week of it, as I head out Friday. I’m actually looking forward to leaving this week behind. My back is really hurting today from all my exertions in the yard the past couple days, and I’m still not done. The duck house has new bedding, sweet potatoes have been planted, more onions were planted, duck water has been changed about a million times, protective barriers have been built around my trellises to guard against both cats and ducks. Frankly, I’m exhausted.

The hardest part is the fact that all the animals have been working against me in one way or another. I’m furious with Chicky (constantly spraying EVERYWHERE) and only mildly annoyed with the others. I had decided this morning to give away the ducks as they are just so much work. I haven’t been able to keep them quiet or clear of all gardening areas and it has begun to seem like too much when so much is going wrong. H has sort of talked me out of it, but I have to admit I’m feeling more than a bit foolish at the moment, having underestimated the work required to take care of even this much.

It is all compacted by the fact I have been sleeping poorly for so long I can’t even remember the last time I slept well.

On a brighter note, I posted a picture of the giant peacock doily on facebook yesterday and have gotten a lot of positive response and kind comments. It really is such a beautiful pattern.

Well, I’m off to go plant some more things, but first I’m making some comfort food. Feeling pretty bummed…

I hope you’re having a better day.

 

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Peggy McG says:

    Go have fun, hopefully with sunshine!! Go with no regrets!!
    The gray rainy days stretch the emotions to the max!
    I just called my son about “stuff” and told him i want to live in a tiny house in florida with no cats!!

    1. June Wildflower says:

      Oooohhh…that sounds like fun Peggy! I know I could do a tiny house by myself, people-wise, but I would have to have a critter somewhere!

Leave a Reply

