Just a little work…

I don’t feel like doing much of anything lately. Actually, I’d like to sleep. Maybe I should.

I did spend a couple hours upstairs stitching. I put on a movie while I did so, Hello, My Name is Doris…starring Sally Field. It was entertaining. And she still looks amazing.

IMG_0545

I have finished the main body of the giant peacock doily I’m making for the neighbor’s friend. I’m ready to put on the points now. Ready and not ready. I’m feeling a bit burned out after so much crocheting…giving it a breather for a few days.

IMG_0546

I woke up to cats and kittens all over the house this morning, 7:30 a.m. They were going completely nuts, having a good time. A really good time. There was non-stop tumbling, couch climbing and rug chewing. They weren’t where they were supposed to be.

IMG_0552

I got them herded (yes, cats and kittens can be herded, it is possible) into the back room and propped open the door so they could go outside. Then I got to clean up kitty vomit off the floor and diarrhea out of their mini litter box…at least they did it in there. Was this their way of saying good morning, we love you?

IMG_0553

When I was done, it was straight to the teapot to warm up water for tea…my special green tea mix with matcha, moringa, cayenne, raw honey and lemon. Yum. I put my tea down, waiting for it to cool a bit, sat on the couch, turned on my phone and noticed a big fly buzzing nearby.

IMG_0554

Phone didn’t have too much to say. Noticing the time, I had roughly 30 minutes to settle into my tea and wake up before the ducks started squawking to be let out. I reached for my tea, took the first sip and…what the heck? There was something in my tea, now caught between my lips. It was the fly. It had just drowned itself.

IMG_0556

Oh, well, I thought…and drank the tea anyway.

This is a lovely piece of cloth I’ve used for a backing, maybe too lovely to have on the back. But, it worked, so I went with it. I’ve been doing too much saving, anyway.

IMG_0557

There was a sort of blow-up here over the weekend, the holiday weekend. It was about 2 1/2 years in the making. Nothing overly dramatic, just a brother-in-law, who happens to be our landlord, who gets overly focused on the minutia he believes other people should be doing and working on and who, in the process, makes everyone around him miserable. When he played the money card and then the time card…this AC unit is going to cost $$$$ if it overheats and goes out…and no way what you’re saying is true because I lived here 10 years… and there was no agreement that was going to be reached, I told him you’re absolutely right, this is your house, you can do whatever you want with it…and I left. Left him to talk with/gripe to his older brother, my husband…who was made miserable. H reminded him to respectfully consider that, because of him, his brother is about $$$$$ closer to owning this house. It sat empty, unsaleable, for a YEAR before we moved in. For a year he paid for two houses, his new one being over twice the value of this one.

What was all the hubbub about? Essentially, BIL is trying to force us to buy this house. It’s his form of arm twisting…he’s said he needs to get this house off his books…when we all know that’s not true. He makes a lot of money, more money than he’s ever made before, more than enough to pay for both houses by himself, but that’s not the issue. The issue is what he thinks other people should be doing…and he’s a salesman in his job…he’s being a pushy salesman with us.

It was all over the AC unit and how he wanted to chop down all the vegetation around it because it will smother the air flow. Fair enough, but I had already pulled the vegetation away from it, had plans to do the trimming when other garden tasks were completed. He shows up out of nowhere ready to chop…which would seemingly be fine, except last time he did it he took off the height of the plants around it, the only shade being provided, and the AC unit, which he is so dearly trying to protect, worked double time in the heat. He was told last year by the AC guy it needed to be in shade…but he wants to cut the shade down…and I don’t know what I’m talking about because I’ve only been here 2 1/2 years. He could have easily paid for a proper shade for it a thousand times over.

So, this was the solution. He left in a huff (later apologized but, hey, damage done) and I went to work, cow-towing to the pushy BIL. Doing things the way I wanted so they’d be done right and none of my surrounding plants would be destroyed.

IMG_0531

Because of this and putting up the canopy and dealing with everything else, I worked nearly the entire holiday weekend. Maybe that’s why I don’t feel like doing much now.

Because of his pushiness, because of the arm twisting, because he’s trying to force us into deciding to buy this house…I want to leave now more than ever.

IMG_0555

This piece is called Two Skies.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

