Moon flowers…

I’m not sure if I’m just feeling introspective or not very talkative.

I wasn’t very talkative in Texas, either. Things are changing as things do when you work on yourself. It’s ok.

H has a four-day weekend. That’s a bonus of him being the boss now. He got to decide they all got an extra day off for the July 4th holiday. (The old boss wanted everyone to work.) That means brownie points for H, plus he’s got the company in the black for what is usually a very tight month. I’m so proud of him.

I visited the local thrift store today. Found some nice items, like this “lunch cloth.”

IMG_0768

I only know to call it a “lunch cloth” because I found a little sticker on it, probably one leftover from when the person who owned it previously bought it from an antique store.

IMG_0767

They paid $10. It’s worth it, it’s cute.

IMG_0766

I paid $1.50.

IMG_0764

I like the tea theme a lot. And how each motif has it’s own square.

IMG_0763

I came across an old package of needles when I was upstairs the other day. Does anyone remember Cloth World?

20170628_140046

I have fond memories of Cloth World. My mom used to shop there. It’s where she bought all her fabrics. I loved how they draped the fabric over the end of the bolts. I especially loved to crawl into the middle of those circular tables and disappear in fabric…although my eagle-eyed mother never let me get away with it very often.

I did a little work today on this one. I think I’m going to call it Moon Flowers. I’m not sure about that blue patch yet. I’ll see if it grows on me.

IMG_0769

IMG_0770

Looking at my pictures, I see I forgot one. I bought a number of linens and trims at the thrift store today, but also this basket, which I really really like…

IMG_0762

 

 

 

9 Comments Add yours

  1. i like MoonFlowers…like it a lot

    1. June Wildflower says:

      Thanks, Grace!

  2. Peggy McG says:

    Glad you’re back. Never heard of Cloth World, was it a local store, chain? It is the little things that trigger memories.

    1. June Wildflower says:

      I’m guessing Cloth World was throughout the Midwest. Seems like I remember seeing the name in another state…but that was sooo long ago.

  3. Peggy McG says:

    Glad you’re back. Never heard of Cloth World, was it a local store, chain? It is the little things that trigger memories.

  4. Peggy McG says:

    Sorry, hit the post button twice, still cant always figure out this technology, so glad you and other bloggers take the time to!

    1. June Wildflower says:

      No prob! 🙂

  5. stichr says:

    That blue spot does rather jump out and grab you….but it might also be just perfect in the end. I love those little decisions.
    Nice basket!
    The ‘department’ stores used to have fabric sections. On the way out of the store. I either had to drag and beg my mom past that area, or I ended up groaning and moaning while I waited. Now I love it, I was able to pass on the joy of fabric stores to 2 outta 3 kids.

    1. June Wildflower says:

      Hi stichr! The blue patch stayed. Will be posting new photos in a bit. I’m pretty happy with this piece.
      Wow, I don’t think I remember department stores having fabric, although Walmart used to. They used to have bins with $1 a yard fabrics in beautiful prints from India, along with cotton gauze. I just loved going through those. Now, as far as I can tell, they’ve done away with the entire fabric section, aside from an aisle with a few notions and some horrid pre-cut pre-packaged fabrics. It’s loathsome. And last time I was in Hancock Fabric’s they had converted half the store to crafts…what a shame…
      Well, it is much more fun shopping for oneself than waiting on someone else, isn’t it…haha…so glad you passed on the tradition.

Leave a Reply

