Ho hum…

Not that I’m exactly bored…

It’s been a year since I started writing this blog. I kept up with it pretty well, considering it’s the longest I ever kept a blog going.

I haven’t had a lot of stitching to share. I’m not really sure I’ve stitched at all this month, which seems hard to believe. I have largely been crocheting. I wanted that maple leaf for the front porch, and it is finished now.

20171009_101021

It took a lot of work. Must have been 2 solid weeks of crocheting. It might be the hardest pattern I’ve ever tried. It is stated as Intermediate to Advanced. I think part of being a more advanced crocheter is hopefully you can recognized a mistake in the pattern when you see it. I’m not there yet. I had to rip out the beginning twice. The third time I quit following the written instructions and just followed the chart, and then things lined up.

20171009_100638

Still, there are some mistakes, but you hardly notice them thanks to the beauty of the design. The yarn I used is Lion Brand Mandala.

20171009_100620

I’m feeling really annoyed with WordPress. They keep changing things so that what was one simple step is now two. Maybe computer programmers should find something else to do with their time rather than reinvent the wheel?

This lovely volunteer cosmos has mostly faded now. I’m planning to get out there and collect the seeds today.

Back to crocheting, my MIL loves fingerless gloves, so I did these with the leftover leaf yarn…

20171013_131109

We went to Botanica in Wichita yesterday and it was really nice. Their mums were a bit faded, but there were still many nice things to look at and loads of butterflies. Here I am with “Prairie Sunshine,” otherwise known as Slender-Stem Bitterweed.

22522222_10155289441778495_944948956_o

I might post more of Botanica later this week. Toodles.

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. really nice portrait..you, flowers, how they match your eyes

    1. June Wildflower says:

      Thanks, Grace!
      I’m so past due keeping up with your blog. Gotta start reading and catch up!

  2. I like your pic too. I also really like your great big leaf!
    Funny…I have been crocheting this month too. Maybe it’s a change in weather thing??

    1. June Wildflower says:

      You know, there is something so comforting about crochet for me. A big part of it is reliance on a pattern and using my brain in a different way. It’s so nice to just follow along, focus on counting and not have to think so much!

Leave a Reply

